2017 Australia Hockey League Commences - isports360
Connect with us


2017 Australia Hockey League Commences

The 2017 Australia Hockey League commenced today with four mouth watering fixtures at the Perth hockey pitch 1. In POOL A, defending champions VIC Vikings beat S.A Hotshot by 8-2. The game started with the champions having one thing in mind which is to defend the trophy they won last year and that paid off. After going down by two (2) goals as early as the 15th minute, they came back with a goal from Ciriello in the 30th min followed by a hat trick from Kleinschmidt in the 33rd, 47th and 50th minutes, Arunasalam grabbed a brace, Pollard and Scanlon on the score sheet as well rounding up a comprehensive win for them.

In the second Pool A game, a hat trick from Arthur was not enough for Tassie Tigers as they fell short by a goal to QLD Blades in a 7 goal thriller.

In Pool B, NSW Waratahs started the tournament on a fine note by beating Canberra Lakers 3-0. Host State WA Thundersticks in a pursuit of their 11th title, used the presence of their home supporters to their advantage in the game against NT Stingers. They beat them by 3-1 to round up match day one(1).

Results 27th September, 2017.

  • VIC Vikings              8-2       S.A Hotshots
  • Tassie Tigers           3-4      QLD Blades
  • NSW Waratahs        3-0      Canberra Lakers
  • WA Thundersticks  3-1       NT Stingers

The league continues tomorrow 29th September with three(3) matches at Perth hockey stadium pitch 1 and 2.

Pool A

  • VIC Vikings vs NZL Development
  • Tassie Tigers  vs SA Hotshot

Pool B

  • WA Thundersticks vs India Development


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in News

Copyright © 2017 isports360.com. All rights reserved. The information contained in isports360.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of isports360.com