2017 Men's Australian Hockey League - isports360
Connect with us


2017 Men’s Australian Hockey League


The 2017 men’s Australian Hockey League will be held between 28 September and 8 October 2017, in Perth, Australia . A total of 10 teams will compete for the title. Like the 2016 edition, invitational teams from India and New Zealand will take part in this year’s tourney.
The annual competition which hits its 26th edition, will for the 2nd time only in history have a team from India and New Zealand battle it out with 8(eight) other teams from Australia.

Can they defend the trophy ….. VIC Vikings

The most successful team with 10 titles WA Thundersticks will host this year’s tournament to see if they add another title to their trophy room. Defending champions VIC Vikings will be in action to defend the trophy they won last year.

Teams are split evenly into pools A and B where they compete in a single round-robin format.

At the conclusion of the initial pool stage, the top two teams in each pool progress to the medal playoffs in Pool D, while the remaining six teams progress to the classification matches in Pool C.

In Pool C, teams carry over points earned in previous matches and contest the teams they are yet to play. Final ranking in Pool C determines the final tournament standing from fifth to tenth place.

In Pool D, teams carry over points earned in previous matches and contest the teams they are yet to play. The top two teams then progress to the final, while the bottom two teams contest the third and fourth place playoff.

Host State and most successful….. WA Thundersticks

Participating teams include host WA Thundersticks,  defending champions VIC Vikings, Canberra Lakers, NSW Waratahs, NT Stingers, OLD Blades, S.A. Hotshots, Tassie Tigers and invitational teams India and New Zealand.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in News

Copyright © 2017 isports360.com. All rights reserved. The information contained in isports360.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of isports360.com