ACCC 2018: Who represents Ghana? - isports360
Connect with us


ACCC 2018: Who represents Ghana?

Ghana will be fully represented at the 2018 Africa Cup for Club Champions (ACCC) in Abuja later this year. Four teams comprising two male and two female clubs will jet off to Nigeria in December to defend and raise the flag of Ghana high.


After narrowly missing out in last year’s edition with a 3rd place finish in the 2017 Sapholda league, the Bankers with an outstanding 2018 season will be in Abuja as one of the male representatives from Ghana. The current GAHA league Champions had an excellent season overcoming competition from the likes of GRA and Police men to lift the trophy.

Exchequers will want to replicate their stellar performance in the league on the continental stage; unbeaten in 10 league outings. Established in 1971 and being the first ever Ghanaian club to play in the competition, the bankers will be seeking continental glory after a 5th place in their last appearance (2016). A silver medal in 1991 and bronze medals in 1998 and 2002 remains till date the achievements of Exchequers at the ACCC. Aside the league trophy, Exchequers also bagged the Greater Accra GALA and Homowo trophies.

The likes of Ankomah Emmanuel (2016 ACCC top scorer), 2018 GAHA league’s best central defensive pair; Akpene Samuel and Osmanu Mohammed, best goalkeeper; Tyche Duisberg and the experience Elikem Akaba will give an extra boost to the bankers.



The 2017 ACCC bronze medalist will still be one of the teams to beat in Abuja. After 24 years in the wilderness, the revenue controllers returned to the continental stage last year and produced a performance worth claiming gold but had to settle for bronze.

The team placed second in the 2018 GAHA league to earn qualification; surrendering the trophy they won in 2016 to Exchequers. However, GRA managed to still lift two trophies; Cape Coast Afahye Tournament and Greater Accra knockout.

Former SWAG Male Hockey player of the year, Ernest Opoku (the nation’s penalty corner expert) who bagged 10 goals with 8 from penalty corners, Nick Hanson with 9 league goals, Damalie Luke and the ever dependable goalkeeper, Eugene Acheampong will lead the lines for GRA.



The royal ladies of GRA has been the dominant side locally in the women’s division for years now. The team heads to Abuja as defending GAHA league and ACCC champions.

An unbeaten league season coupled with triumphs in the Greater Accra GALA and Knockout as well as the Cape Coast Afahye tournament makes GRA a force to reckon with come 15th December, 2018. The team still remains the only Ghanaian club to win gold in the ACCC after doing the double over Telkom Kenya in 2017; ending their five-year trophy dominance and six-year unbeaten run.

Making their debut in 2008, GRA went on to win bronze in that edition and has since then won lots of medals; silver in 2012 and 2016 as well as bronze in 2013, 2014 and 2015.

An extra boost for the Royal ladies will be the flair and skills of Elizabeth Opoku (ACCC 2016 top scorer), the goal scoring efficiency of Vivian Narkuoh and the solidity of 2018 GAHA league’s best defender as well as 2017 ACCC best player, Mavis Berko.



The law enforcers qualified on the ticket as second placed team in the 2018 GAHA league. The ladies from Ghana Police service unlike their Arch rivals head to Abuja as bronze medalist beating Kada queens in 2017.

Not so convincing a league season but Ghana Police ladies still managed to lift the Homowo trophy. A second place finish in 2015 remains their best position in the ACCC.

Police ladies will be taking inspiration from the versatility of Nafisatu Umaru (2017 ACCC too scorer), Sarfoa Martha and Serwaa Boakye.

The 2018 ACCC runs from 15th – 22nd December, 2018 at the Abuja National Stadium, Nigeria.




Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in ACCC18

Copyright © 2017 All rights reserved. The information contained in may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of