Eastern Region Hockey Competition starts. - isports360
Connect with us

Koforidua Hockey

Eastern Region Hockey Competition starts.

The Eastern Region Second Cycle Schools Sports Association zonal hockey competition commenced with 18 schools ( 12 male teams and 10 female teams) from seven zones in the region. The competition which started on Monday 27th November runs through till Thursday 30th November, 2017. Pope John’s Senior High host the boys division with the girls playing all games at Ghana Secondary School hockey pitch. The first two teams from the zonal games automatically qualified for this competition.

In the male category, the 12 schools were grouped into three. Zone A comprised WBM ZION SHS, PRESEC Mampong, Okuapeman Senior High School (OKUASS) and Amuse Methodist Senior High (AMEST) with Oti Boateng Senior High School (OBOSS), Nkawkaw Senior High School (KAWSEC), Akokoaso Senior High School and Kibi Senior High Technical School (KISHTS) all in Zone B with Koforidua Technical School (KOTEC), St. Peter’s Senior High School (PERSCO), Yilo Krobo Senior High School (YIKROSEC) and St. Martin’s Senior High School ( SMARTS) also in Zone C.

On match day one in the male category, the first match saw WBM beat PRESEC Mampong by 2-0 in the only Zone A match of the day. In Zone B, the game between OBOSS and KAWSEC ended in 1-1 with OBOSS winners on the penalty shootouts while PERSCO also won their game against Kotech on penalties after a barren game. In Zone C of match day one, KISHTS earned all three maximum points with a 1-0 win over Akokoaso. In the last match of the day, YIKROSEC won 5-1 on penalties against SMARTS after a goalless drawn game.

On match day two, WBM made it two wins from two matches and solidify their top spot in Zone A with a 3-1 win over OKUASS. PRESEC Mampong lost their second game by a lone goal to Amest . A 2-1 penalty win over Oboss brought back hopes for Akokoaso after their day one loss while Kishts continued their dominance in Zone B beating KAWSEC by a lone goal. Zone C rounded up match day two with their own pair of matches which saw PERSCO beat Smarts 1-0 and KOTEC 4-0 winners on penalties over Yikrosec after a goalless drawn game.


In the female category, the schools were also grouped into three with Zone A comprising OBOSS, PRESEC suhum, Akokoaso SSH and St. Paul’s SHS (PASCO). Zone B had the likes of Begoro PRESEC, Kwahu Ridge Technical School (KRISTECH) and Okuass with Ghana Secondary School (GHANASS), Amest and Abetifi Presbyterian Senior Technical School (APSTS) also in Zone C.

The first match of day one saw OBOSS beat  suhum PRESEC on penalties while Akokoaso thumped Pasco 3-0. In Zone B of match day one, a goal in the dying minutes gave Begoro PRESEC all three points in their match against KRISTECH. GHANASS then beat AMEST on penalties to round up match day one.

On match day two, Akokoaso continued their excellent display with a 2-0 win over OBOSS while PASCO after a barren game with suhum PRESEC , won 3-2 on penalties. Begoro PRESEC surprised OKUASS with a 1-0 victory to qualify from Zone B. In the last match of the day, GHANASS beat APSTS by a lone goal to also make qualification to the next round.

Source: PAA KWESI ACHEAMPONG (ISPORTS360 correspondent, ER)

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Anonymous

    May 4, 2018 at 11:59 am

    I love this school

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Koforidua Hockey

Copyright © 2017 isports360.com. All rights reserved. The information contained in isports360.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of isports360.com