Emmanuel Ankomah, Mavis Berko nominated for SWAG Hockey player of the year awards. - isports360 News
Connect with us

Association News

Emmanuel Ankomah, Mavis Berko nominated for SWAG Hockey player of the year awards.

What a year for Ghana Hockey! After an impressive display by representatives at the just ended Hockey Africa Cup for Club Champions, the Ghana Hockey Association has received another tremendous boost with nominations for the upcoming Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) awards.

The ceremony which enters it’s 44th year since inception will see three hockey coaches battle for the Coach of the year accolade. Ebenezer Frimpong after guiding GRA men to their first ever ACCC final will face competition from Boakye Danquah whose GRA ladies after dominating the local front, failed to defend the trophy they won last year in Africa. Exchequers’ Richmond Attipoe complete the trio after leading the bankers to their first league triumph in over a decade.

From left to right; Boakye Danquah, Richmond Attipoe and Ebenezer Frimpong

Emmanuel Ankomah also of Exchequers Hockey club will receive the award for the best Male Hockey player. The skipper whose tremendous efforts and leadership abilities off and on the field of play helped the bankers to the league trophy will be on course for his second ever player of the year award. The female category will see January 2108 ACCC most valuable player Mavis Berko of GRA ladies take home the award.

Ankomah Emmanuel of Exchequers and GRA’S Mavis Berko

The awards which does not focus only on efforts on the field of play but contributions in general towards the growth of sports will honour Mr. Dennis Amoah-Ababio Junior for his enormous contribution towards the development of hockey in Ghana and beyond. The CEO of isports360 has been nominated for the Dedication and Valor category of the awards.

Dennis Amoah-Ababio Junior

The SWAG President, Mr. Kwabena Yeboah announced that 34 sports personalities and 11 sports organizations have been nominated for the award ceremony which will be held at the Accra International Conference Centre in Accra. He was certain that this year’s edition will be the best in history while praising headline sponsors MTN Ghana for their continuous support. 

“It will once again be a glorious night of pride and history for our sport men and women who have excelled in 2018 as well as institutions that have contributed to the development and promotion of sports in the country. And as has been the tradition we’ve always delivered classy event year after year. May 11 hopefully will not be different. We shall do our best to give our patrons, stakeholders and sponsors the best of the night and a memorable one”, he said.

The 44th SWAG awards wil take place at the Accra International Conference Center on 11th May, 2019.



  1. Anonymous

    January 31, 2019 at 11:16 pm

    Not Boakye Danquah.
    His name is Osei Boakye Yiadom

  2. Amoh Awuah Bernard

    January 31, 2019 at 4:51 pm

    Please I need your support for a juvenile hockey club

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Association News

Copyright © 2017 isports360.com. All rights reserved. The information contained in isports360.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of isports360.com