Connect with us


FIH confirms Spain men and Belgium women join Hockey Pro League


The International Hockey Federation (FIH) has confirmed that Spain men and Belgium women will participate in the inaugural Hockey Pro League which begins in 2019.

Following an application process which was oversubscribed, both teams were approved as the first reserves earlier in June once the League participants had been announced.

After India men and women withdrew from the League earlier in July, it was necessary for those two to be brought in to replace them based on the current FIH rankings.

Spain men and Belgium women’s inclusion for at least the first four years of the competition means that the proposed nine-team League structure remains in place.

Due to launch in January 2019, the Hockey Pro League will see world class men’s and women’s national teams from around the world play each other both at home and away every year, across a total of 144 one-off matches. The fixtures will take place in national stadiums, week in, week out, from January to June.

Belgium women will go up against Argentina, Australia, China, England/Great Britain, Germany, Netherlands, New Zealand and USA.

The men’s competition will now be contested between Argentina, Australia, Belgium, England/Great Britain, Germany, Netherlands, New Zealand Pakistan and Spain.

Credit: FIH

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in News