From Gold Coast to Gold Coast : Ghana's final 18. - isports360
Connect with us

National teams

From Gold Coast to Gold Coast : Ghana’s final 18.

Ghana’s female Hockey team coach Emmanuel Ahadjie has named his final 18 for the 2018 Commonwealth games to be held in Gold Coast, Australia.

The Black Sticks boss named his final squad on Saturday morning hours after playing Exchequers hockey club in a friendly at the Theodosia Okoh hockey stadium.

The squad is mostly made up of players who participated at the just ended ACCC for both GRA ladies and Ghana Police ladies. The team will be without Skipper Racheal Bamfo due to personal reasons as well as Fiador Evelyn and goalkeeper Abigail Boye. However, the squad boasts of players like 2017 ACCC best player Mavis Berko, top scorer Nafisatu Umaru, the ever glittering Elizabeth Opoku and the tenacious Vivian Narkuor.

The team is set to leave the country later today for a pre-tournament camping in Australia.


Goalkeepers : Bridget Azumah (GRA) and Mavis Ampem Darkoa (Reformers).

Defenders : Juwaila Acquah (Ghana Police), Janet Adampa Oforiwaa (GRA), Mavis Berko Boatemaa (GRA), Adizatu Suleymana (GRA), Emelia Fosuaa (GRA), Benedicta Adobea Adjei (Reformers).

Midfielders : Nafisatu Umaru (Ghana Police), Lydia Afriyie (GRA), Serwaa Boakye (Ghana Police), Ernestina Coffie (GRA), Cecelia Amoako (Ghana Police).

Attackers : Vivian Narkuor (GRA), Elizabeth Opoku (GRA), Martha Sarfoa (Ghana Police), Roberta Sarfo Owusu (GRA), Deborah Whyte (GRA).

This will be Ghana’s first appearance at the Commonwealth games (hockey).

Ghana’s opening game is against veterans New Zealand on Friday 6th April, 2018 with their second game 24hours later against defending champions Australia. The team will then take on Scotland on Monday, 9th April before rounding up with Canada on Wednesday, April 11th.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in National teams

Copyright © 2017 All rights reserved. The information contained in may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of